Sweet Bye-Bye

, SCover_small

Yesterday I decided to spend some time on my chaise lounge. You all know I love my chaise, it’s practically my “tent of meeting”, although I haven’t been on it in a while. None the less, I decided to rendezvous with it last night and pick up a good book (something else I had not done in a while).

I had picked up a few books on a store run the other day and one of my “finds” was
Sweet Bye-Bye by Denise Michelle Harris and I finished it in one night. It really ministered to me in several ways. I don’t want to tell the story because I want you all to read the book, however it talks about the masks that we all wear. How we are so busy trying to have it all together on the outside, that we forget to take care of the inside. When you get yourself together, the inside reflects on the outside. (This happens when the inside is not together as well. That is why we may look pretty and all dolled up but all people see is the hate, bitterness, unforgiveness, and ugliness that lay on the inside of us.) I found myself up until the wee hours of the morning reflecting on the inner me. Now I am not extremely flashy on the outside but I do love to play dress up. I found myself asking how much of the real me I had dressed up, and put makeup on. The question is how many masks was I wearing, not IF I was wearing one.

Okay, so maybe you are not a reader and the book would be too much, check out this short post written by Brandi Hawthorne that ministers on the same thing.

If you want to read the book you can find it on amazon or on at http://www.denisemichelleharris.com/

La!

Leave a Reply

